This year's Asian Pacific Islander American Heritage Month events are sponsored by APIA, API Grad, Associated Students, Division of Humanities and Communication, and the OC3.


April 8

Insert a description of the image here.

Writers from the Edge: Lysley Tenorio | 7-9p | UC Living Room

Award winning Filipino American author, Lysley Tenorio, will read from his recent collection of short stories, "Monstress." These stories explore the intersections of migration, sexuality, and ethnic and transnational histories. For more information and disability accommodations, contact Ernest Stromberg (estromberg@csumb.edu).

April 17

Insert a description of the image here.

Theater Delta | 5-7p | UC Conference Rooms

Theater Delta is a theater company that integrates social justice issues into theater. Students who participate in this workshop will get a chance to utilize different theater and acting exercises to engage in conversations around race and race relations. Workshop will be facilitated by Ben Saypol and Annice Fisher. Free for students. Workshop designed for 30-50 students. Please contact Nancy Her (nher@csumb.edu) for RSVP form and/or disability accommodations.

April 22

Disassembling Stereotypes | 5:30-7:30p | Otter Cross Cultural Center, Student Center

Workshop which challenges students and faculty to analyze, create and to become more aware of the emotional affects which originate from the societal use of racial stereotypes through critical thinking and the Cycle of Socialization. For more information and/or disability accommodations, contact Sharleen Mariano (smariano@csumb.edu) and Maranatha Croomes (mcroomes@csumb.edu). 

April 28

4th Annual Cultural Showcase | 5-7p | UC Ballroom

This event is a culturally enriching event featuring educational portions and performances by APIA members, Greek organizations and student participation. All these groups will
be demonstrating knowledge of API heritage through dancing, singing, spoken word and more! Free for all students, staff and public communities. Drinks and food will be provided.  Contact: Ieshia Basa (ibasa@csumb.edu)

April 29

Holi Festival | 12-4p | Main Quad

2nd Annual Holi Fest is a celebration of color originating from India. Colored powder will be provided!
Contact: Andrea Perez (andperez@ csumb.edu).

April 30

API Student, Staff/Faculty Mixer | 3-5p | West Lounge, Student Center

This is an opportunity for a more engaging interaction between students and faculty regarding
important issues within the API community. Drinks and food will be provided. Contact: Peter Xiong, (pxiong@csumb. edu).

May 1

3rd Annual APIA Luau | 5-8p | Dining Commons

Come join us in the Dining Commons for a multicultural luau experience with food and entertainment from APIA and student performers. Entry for the DC can be paid with blocks or regular cash. Contact: Sabrina Bacungan (sbacungan@ csumb.edu) or Valerie Amoin (vamoin@ csumb.edu).

May 2

Lei It All Down | 9p-12a | BBC

APIA is hosting their first annual dance at the BBC to end their APIA week. Join in on celebrating the various Asian Pacific Islander cultures. Free for all CSUMB students with Otter ID. Contact: Raquel Gonzales (rgonzales@csumb.edu).

May 16

API Grad | 5-7p | UC Conference Rooms

This is an intimate graduation ceremony held for graduating APIA students and their families. All Graduates are welcome to attend and participate. Food TBD. Contact: Purvi Shah (pshah@csumb. edu).